God's Heaven

This blog is solely dedicated to Gods and their pics.....Don't forget to comment
वक्रतुण्ड महाकाय सूर्यकोटी समप्रभः
निर्विघ्नं कुरु मे देव सर्वकार्येशु सर्वदा

Tuesday, November 27, 2007


Ghabaro - this is the area of the inner sanctorum where the idols of the two Mahavir bhagwan and Parswanath bhagwan are enshrined on a beautiful vedi (throne). In the centre we have the 61 inch marble idol of Mahavir bhagwan and on either side we have an 11 inch idol in panchdhatu (five metals) of Parswanath bhagwan and a nine inch idol in silver metal of Mahavir bhagwan. The three idols sit on a gandhkuti. The gandhkuti is where the Tirthankar bhagwan or Arihant bhagwan is seated. There are three small tiers symbolising the three jewels (samak darshan-gnan-charitra) or the path to liberation, on which sits the Lord. He is a symbol of the fruit of the three jewels i.e. liberation.

On top of the main vedi (throne) we have a shikhar (crown). In all inaugurated Jain temples, it is important to have a shikhar. It is a symbol of superiority, but in addition it is also a sign from far away that a Jain temple is present. As well as the shikhar on the vedi, there are three shikhars on the outside of the temple. On top of the inside shikhar there are three kalashes (stupikas). A kalash is a symbol of the establishment of any auspicious deed in the religious hierarchy. It is for this reason that in the panchkalyanak ceremony of the inauguration of the throne and in thevidhan- pujas, the kalash is first installed before the ceremony proceeds. Underneath the shikhar, there is a panel depicting the eight auspicious objects in Jainism (asht mangal).

Just above the idols we have 3 chhatra. There are always three chhatra above the Jin idol's head and this is a symbol that he is the Lord of all three worlds. In addition, the cchatra also demonstrates that the Lord has forever destroyed the wheel of birth and rebirth and is now experiencing eternal bliss. Behind the main Mahavir bhagwan idol we have a bhamandal (mirror). This is a reflection of the Lord's extra-ordinary pre-eminence, in which eligible souls can view their seven incarnations in a samavasharan - three past incarnations, one present and three future ones if remaining. On viewing these incarnations, one gets inspired to eliminate all re-incarnations.

On either side of the vedi there are two pillars which display the sixteen dreams which the mother of the Tirthankar bhagwan has prior to conception. Behind the vedi there is an Ashok-vraksh (a symbol of happiness and no pain or poverty surrounding the samavasharan). On the walls of the ghabaro (inner sanctorum) we have inscriptions of dictum by Pujya Gurudevshree Kanjiswami, Pujya Bahenshree Champaben, Aradhna paath, the 'jaimala' of the Dev-shastra-guru puja by Pandit Jugalkishorji, Nirvankand, names of 20 Tirthankar bhagwan in Mahavidehchhetra. On the main walls of the swadhyay room we have inscriptions of 5 verses of the five main shastras by KundKund Acharyadev i.e. Samaysar, Pravachansar, Niyamsar, Ashtpahud and Panchastikay. We also have inscriptions of sayings by Pujya Gurudev Shri Kanjiswami and some of his daily recitals such as, 47 Shakti from Samaysar, 47 Nay from Pravachansar, 10 bol of Srimad Rajchandra, names of 24 Tirthankars and 10 Alingrahan Bol from gatha 72 of Pravachansar.

No comments: